RU 2022 Speakers Announced!

26th Annual Recycling Update!

Below please find the preliminary speakers list in alphabetical order by last name. Click here for speaker bios.

Please register today or before 3/1/22.

Jules Bailey, Executive Vice President for Oregon Beverage Recycling Cooperative (OBRC) and incoming President and CEO in 2023

Joanne Brasch, PhD, Special Project Manager, California Product Stewardship Council (CPSC)

Caroline Cotto, Renewal Mill and ,

Jeff Donlevy, Business Development Manager, Recycling Industries, Inc and Member, Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling

Kevin Drew, Senior Zero Waste Specialist, City of San Francisco and Co-Founder, Carbon Positive Futures

Lawrence Grown, Founder, West Berkeley Design Loop, Commotion West Berkeley, Berkeley-Built Magazins and Metro Lighting

Nick Harvey, Founder/CEO, BayArea Redwood

Sally Houghton, Executive Director, Plastic Recycling Corporation of California (PRCC)

Jessica Irving Marschall, President/CEO, The Green Mission Inc

Tommy Jackson, Senior Area Supply Chain Manager, Waste Management of Reno

Nicole Kurian, Advocate/Policy Analyst at Californians Against Waste

Gena McKinley, Strategic Initiatives Division Manager for Austin Resource Recovery

Caren McNamara Founder, Conscious Container

Calla Rose Ostrander, Natural and Working Lands Climate Change Coordinator at California Natural Resources Agency and Strategic Advisor,  Phoenix Rising Resources, LLC

Veronica Pardo, Regulatory Affairs Director for the Resource Recovery Coalition of California

Jessica Jane Robinson, CEO and Founder, Resilience Birthright Inc and NCRA Vice President

Kelly Schoonmaker, Program Manager, StopWaste/Alameda County Waste Management

Tom Steele, Executive Director, Bio-Link Depot and Operations Director, Friends of SCRAP

Justin Wilcock, Director of General Operations, Marin Sanitary Service

Matt Zimbalist, Co-Founder and Operations Manager, Re-Up Refills, Oakland

Zro, Regional Coordinator, California Alliance for Community Composting (CACC) Green Spaces Program

Ten Steps to a Better Zoom Experience


___  Consider plugging into your modem via an Ethernet cable/DSL versus using wifi.
___  If possible, use a laptop or desktop computer. They generally provide a better experience and work better with Zoom than mobile devices.
___  Download/Update Zoom Client for Meetings. If you postpone, you will be prompted to update on login and miss out.
___  Test your audio and video via Zoom. It sets up a test meeting just for you to see and hear yourself.
___  Need help? Before 3/8, contact the Office with Zoom as the subject and we can arrange a test session.


___  Before joining, exit all applications – including web browsers, and then turn your computer off and on again.
___  Reboot and limit the number of files and browsers you have open.
___  Virtual backgrounds may slow access. If you must use one, choose one that is not animated.
___ To see the slides and a speaker simultaneously, select Speaker View versus Gallery.
___ Using multiple screens may make it hard for Zoom to display slides and a speaker simultaneously. It may have something to do with your account type. (We don’t know the answer but hope someone will figure it out.)
___  Having problems during a session? Use the Private Chat function to contact the session a Zoom Co-Host.

Election Results for 2022 – 2023 Term

Congratulations David Krueger, Tim Dewey-Mattia and Susan Blachman for being re-elected to the 2022 – 2023 NCRA Board of Directors! Welcome Bailey Hall, Devin Jackson and Freddy Coronado! The new Board will be seated at the January 2022 meeting and introduced at Recycling Update and in the NCRA newsletter.

There were 245 eligible voters and 85 members voted, for a turnout of 34.7%.  The results were certified by SimplyVoting. See image below for additional details.

Thank you Alexandra Bradley, Kerry Parker and Portia Sinnott for your time on the board. We will surely miss you! Also, thanks to Laura McKaughan and Lori Marra for serving as the Elections Committee.

Thank you all for stepping up to lead NCRA!